Is a TOGAF Certification Worth Pursuing?

TOGAF, an acronym for The Open Group Architecture Framework, is used by organizations to design an IT infrastructure that is adapted to meet their requirements. The Open Group states that it is a proven Enterprise Architecture (EA) methodology and framework, and organizations use it for improving their business efficiency. Since its release in 1995, the TOGAF framework was enhanced from time to time and successive versions of TOGAF were introduced. The most recent version of TOGAF is the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2, launched in 2018.

Professionals who are well-versed in the TOGAF approach have greater credibility and better career opportunities. Employers generally seek professionals with a TOGAF certification who can use TOGAF to align IT with business units and produce quality results.

Let us know what TOGAF certification is all about and whether it is worth pursuing.

What is TOGAF certification?

The Open Group launched TOGAF as a professional certification program for individuals in 2004. Professionals who acquire the TOGAF certification have a clear understanding of the standard framework and methods of enterprise architecture. This certification is vendor-neutral and recognized globally, including the world’s leading enterprises.

To become TOGAF 9 Certified, a candidate needs to pass two exams:

  • TOGAF 9 Foundation (Part 1)
  • TOGAF 9 Certification (Part 2)

The TOGAF certification doesn’t need any renewal. However, when a new version of TOGAF is released, the candidate may have to get certified again. The current syllabus of the certification program is based on the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2.

For the TOGAF 9 Foundation (Part 1) exam, there are no prerequisites. Aspirants interested in a career in enterprise architecture can take up the exam. Consisting of 40 multiple choice questions, the exam needs to be completed in 60 minutes. The passing score is 55%.

For the TOGAF 9 Certification (Part 2) exam, candidates are required to pass the Foundation exam. The Part 2 exam consists of 8 scenario-based questions and the exam duration is 90 minutes. One needs to score at least 60% to pass the exam.

To get all the details regarding both the exams, you can visit this link.

Should you get a TOGAF certification?

Finding out about the certification process is a secondary task. Firstly, one needs to be determined to achieve the TOGAF certification. If you are considering a career in enterprise architecture, you must get TOGAF certified. Here are some of the reasons why:

Enterprise Architects are highly paid

Companies pay high salaries to proficient enterprise architects. According to Glassdoor, enterprise architects earn an average salary of $110,663 in the US. Now, TOGAF is considered as a gold standard in the field of enterprise architecture and achieving a TOGAF certification will give you a competitive edge in the hiring process. Additionally, you will have better salary prospects than your non-certified peers.

Better understand an organization’s requirements

TOGAF is geared to all aspects of enterprise-level IT architectures and it covers everything from design, planning stages to implementing, maintaining, and governance. So, professionals with TOGAF certification are able to understand an organization’s requirements clearly, make efficient use of resources, and ensure greater Return On Investment (ROI).

Connect with thousands of certified EAs

Navigating through The Open Group website, you will find that more than 70,000 professionals are already TOGAF certified and have benefitted by applying their proven knowledge of the framework. By achieving the TOGAF certification, you will be able to connect with professionals in the same field and share your ideas on how to better assess the organizational needs and implement the required changes.

No eligibility requirements

Anyone with an interest to start a career in IT architecture can take the TOGAF certification. Unlike other certifications that come with specific qualifications and experience requirements, there are no prerequisites associated with the TOGAF 9 Foundation (Part 1) certification. Only when you are preparing for the TOGAF 9 Certification (Part 2) exam, you need to clear the Part 1 exam. 

Looking at all these benefits, you can definitely decide to go for a TOGAF certification and prove to the employers that you have the experience and technical skills required to do the job.

What should your career path be?

Professionals have taken many different paths to reach the role of an enterprise architect. Software developers, system administrators, or even database administrators can move ahead in their careers to become an enterprise architect. Good communication skills, problem-solving attitude, ability to negotiate and inspire are some of the top skills that make you an ideal EA. Coming to the technical skills, EAs need to be well-versed in architecture strategy, portfolio management, making decisions on standards, policies, and protocols, and technology life cycles. 

The TOGAF certification enables you to reach the EA level in a shorter period of time and adds significant value to your array of skills. You already know the exam details and the passing score needed to qualify for the TOGAF exams. Now, to prepare for TOGAF certification, one can either go for self-study or attend a training course. There are accredited training course providers whose list you can find on the Open Group website. Taking an accredited course will save the time that you would otherwise spend on researching the study materials. Some of the training providers may also offer facilities to take the exam or even provide exam vouchers. So, start your journey to become a successful enterprise architect with a TOGAF certification today! 

WE SAID THIS: Get certified!